What I feel after teaching my first web dev workshop !

  1. author imagea good friend
  2. 27 October 2017

As a junior front-end web developer who has a lot of passion about front-end technologies, I decided to teach them to students in my university. I entered the world of web development more than one year ago (maybe one year and 2 months from now), and I was fascinated by the power that HTML, CSS and Javascript gave to me so I can create what I want.

You know sometimes when you had an idea about making an application but you didn’t have the ability to make it alive? well, I think we all had that moment but when you learn a technology like front-end technologies for my case, you have the power to create and make what things happen and when I say power I remember Charlie Chaplin’s famous speech “we the people have the power, have the power to create machines , to create happiness ..” if you want to watch it, here you are.

So, I learnt HTML CSS and javascript and I’ve done a lot of websites. Of course when I say I learnt these three technologies, I’m not supposed to mention all other technologies like jekyll, some design skills , svg etc..

So after one year of starting my path, I decided to teach, not because I became an expert, I still believe that I have a long way to go, but it’s just about sharing my knowledge.

How did I prepare for my first workshop as the teacher

I was preparing for this important moment for me for four days , I didn’t go to the university, if there’s any nerd reading this feeling bad for me lol , I want to say that only because I don’t go a lot to school , I learnt what I learnt in web development so that happened thanks to my “dont go to school” angel.

So I prepared a good minimal PowerPoint presentation so they see me like a TED speaker right? so, do you really believe that I bought a remote control for the PowerPoint presentation? well, I really did and I really love it, it saves a lot of energy and it’s cool right? a remote control for powerpoint presentation, I bet you’ve always wanted that right? so yeah, maybe you’re saying this kid is a little bit obsessed with perfection, and I really was .

What did I talk about ?

I decided to talk about web development generally then front-end (it’s a series of front-end workshops as you see), I didn’t want to start teaching the basics of HTML because I thought people should know what they’re doing, I mean like “there’s a back-end part people , it’s the data access area and it’s the BTS (behind the scenes) part , and we’re going to learn the part we see which is front-end”, things like that.

After that I showed them what is HTML , explaining that nonsense abbreviation, then teaching the syntax , some elements , attributes … then we made our first web page, and let me tell you a story. I remember my first HTML workshop, we didn’t make something fancy but I remember how I fell in love with that input tag, it was simple and amazing.

I showed them some css , “definition” , syntax , some properties .. and I know what are you thinking, HTML and CSS in the first workshop? are you stupid kid? well, I don’t know my IQ level (an I really don’t think that IQ describes your intelligence) , but, I did show them some html and some css so they know what they can do, but there are more workshops coming so we’ll dive in html , css , and JavaScript in a proper way.

What’s next ?

I want to share the maximum of my knowledge, just that. In the end, I want the one who attend my workshop to be able to make a good looking problem solving website!

what do you think?

About the author

Belhassen Chelbi

Hi, I'm the guy behind this blog, I like web like you do. I'm just a front-end fan , I make some good websites and I like to spread the word..